Robbie's Roots

By robertfelton

Female Migrant Hawker

I often see dragonflies in my garden but they are usually hawking and do not settle at all. A Migrant Hawker settled in the Lilac headge this morning, I got a couple of captures before it made off and as I hadn't seen a Migrant Hawker before decided that I would Blip it. Later in the day I was in the garden watering some pots and noticed another Migrant Hawker settle on the stem of the Buddlia, I grabbed the camera and was able to get a serise of captures, including this one. When I was finished I noticed this Male Common Darter settled on one of the Runner Bean Canes and although I've seen a lot of these lately decided to get a capture it anyway, (another Male Common Dater settled on a further set of canes and they sat impressively like a pair of bookends soaking up the sun). At one point all three Dragonflies were sunning themselves and I was able to get captures of them all!


View Large


Alternate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.