Moments

By togrrrl

Scene from an Exhibition

I went to an art show. It's been a long time since I've been around new art. It made me think a lot about my own practice of photography.

I've been taking photographs for a year now. I bought a point and shoot last summer so I could take pictures of the occasional beautiful sight that I might want to paint. (Sometimes when I see something beautiful I get a very strong feeling that I have to paint it. But my desire exceeds my skill. )

From my first day I was hooked. Wow, you never run out of film! I can play and make as many mistakes as I want and it's free! I haven't been able to stop taking picture since. It's my meditation, my escape. It's a joy to see my surroundings in a different perspective.

I decided that photography would be the one area of my life without rules. I would learn by doing and try to take pictures that pleased me -- that captured what I felt.

But after a year, I feel that I may be ready to start moving on. Seeing other people's art made me feel challenged to push past boundaries in myself to a place which I can only sense. I hope I can get there. I really can't stop trying.

There are probably going to be a lot more abstracts here on blip!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.