Every Little Step

By moonfairy

Now, which language shall I learn today!!

I've always had a thing about learning languages ,and I always wanted to be fluent in another language, but it just never happened.

It started with me learning French at school, I loved it, that is until it started getting too hard. I could read and write it okay, but getting the courage to speak it that was totally different.

Then I was an exchange student to Germany, so I started to learn German,that didn't last long.

Next I went to work in Italy where I had to learn Italian pretty quickly. I did, but I seem to have forgotten it all.

Then I got fascinated by Russian, this I think came from my ballet dancing days, when I loved looking at anything to do with the Russian Ballet. This I definitely can't speak but, I can impress my kids when I can translate the russian alphabet in the movies. Yes! I can do something they can't do Yay! for me!!

And lastly, there's Hungarian, I started to learn this after I worked with a lovely Hungarian girl, unfortunately she recently moved to another state so-ooo I now have no-one to practice with so I've stopped that too.

Along the way I've dabbled with Spanish, played around with all the Scandinavian languages, had a look at Dutch and a peek at Finnish.

And no I still can't speak any of them, but, I can count in some of them, so I suppose that will be useful, if I ever go to those countries!!

And I've got Croatian and Serbian workmates too, so-oo maybe I should have a go at those languages next. What do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.