Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

At the End of Summer

I think about that "empty" space a lot. That emptiness is what allows for something to actually evolve in a natural way. I've had to learn that over the years - because one of the traps of being an artist is to always want to be creating, always wanting to produce.
Meredith Monk


This looks like an empty field.

It is actually teeming with life. In fact, it is a refuge.

In the spring and summer they keep it mowed. But in the autumn and winter they let it grow. Besides the multitude of insects, wildflowers and grasses there are tiny little voles and I suppose mice - possibly even small birds.

Dixie and I walk here pretty much every day. This day it was just starting to rain. As I took this photo the air was filled with a heavy mist, my fleece covered with beads of water and my hair already wet.

What struck me about this image and why I tried to capture it, is the sudden feeling of acceptance. Summer is leaving us and in its place autumn is drifing in. There is a sadness and there is a comfort in accepting that little bit of truth.

Everyone must take time to sit and watch the leaves turn. ~Elizabeth Lawrence

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.