dailykeith

By dailykeith

Sweet and sour

We experienced the easiest fruit-picking of all time this afternoon. There were so many blackberries you hardly had to move to pick a sizeable crop.

As every blackberry dropped into the container, my mind filled with thoughts of delicious dessserts. Blackberry and apple crumble is a personal favourite, but all sorts of other possibilities entered my head.

"These are going to be great for cooking with," my wife said. "Or maybe for blackberry wine."

"Yes, delicious," I replied, licking my lips.

"You won't be able to have any, though," she added. "They're very fattening."

"Oh, right."

Made me wonder about the point of the whole exercise. I suppose it was nice to get out in between the rather spectacular showers today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.