Ineffable

By ineffable

Grandma W

I adore my husband. I gained a huge family when i married him. His parents are both one of a herd of siblings. Grandma K was a HUGE hit at my wedding. My father, a yellow dog democrat was taking to my RED STATE LOVING republican Aunt the morning after the wedding: Aunt, "I love Grandma K. She's a classy old lady. I want to be just like her when I grow up." My father, without missing a beat quipped, "What? Democrat?" Poor Aunt. She hasn't given up on Grandma K, but she did loose a little air from her balloon. As for the other side, well that's Grandma W. She's a feisty little thing. She birthed five, that's right FIVE, girls - including one set of twins. Met her husband working at the Boy Scout headquarters, so we know she's smart... For as long as I've known her she's hung out downstairs at Grandma and Grandpa W's in bed. We've had a couple of visits. One where I think I got her a bit tickled teasing her about going out dancing, and one after the wedding where I took her the picture that Liz took of me with the peacock. She liked it. I am so thankful that we took the time to stop. It was the last time that we got to see her.

Three times. I met her three times. And I am crying as I write this.

She is the reason that I have a husband. She had those five W girls. Who are passionate, intense, TYPE A, different, the same and now, motherless. And B, Mamma B, gave me J. And there is so much of Mamma B, and I am assuming Grandma W in J, and I find myself deeply grateful to the woman who helped raise her daughters and then her grandchildren to. She was hands on. She was opinionated. It was a love for her that gave my husband his tolerance love for loud, opinionated women. Without which I would still be lost and single.

This was my favorite group of photos from the memorial. My absolute favorite is the two piece pose. If I had EVER looked like that in a two piece you can bet your bottom dollar that would be poster size in my living room, obituary and hanging above my cremated remains. I am not sure how Grandma W felt about it, I know the sisters W did not feel the same way as me, but I'll tell you this, they better start hiding all the photos they have of them in bikinis if they don't want me to display them later...

Hope you and Saint Paul are having a good debate in Heaven Grandma W, I know you're giving him a run for his money.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.