BBQ

Jo and I decided to name the BBQ/entertainment area "Ramshackle". That gave me an idea.

This is sort of what I do for a living. To make this sign I created the template in Illustrator. Then loaded ordinary white self adhesive vinyl into the vinyl cutter and cut my illustrator file to shape. Then I "weeded" out the bits I didnt want, applied application tape, put it in a tube and went to make a coffee.

Later whe I got home I took my template to the garage (with a bottle of red). Then I found a piece of offcut timber from my building project, cut it to size, planed it and clamped it to the saw horses.

Then I removed the backing paper from the template and stuck it to the wood. Imagine sticking a sticker down....same thing.

Then I removed the application tape, exposing my template, shook up the spraypaint and sprayed the combined wood and template.

Then it was just a case of waiting for the paint to dry, unpeeling the template and discarding it. The result is what you see. An hour of work and a few glasses of red.

I will hang it this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.