Escaping Erebus

By Escaping_Erebus

Little Soldier

Last night just as I decided to go read, I got a message from my boyfriend over msn telling me of a family crisis. Our friends daughter Samantha** was brought into emergency after a blood test revealed staggeringly high sugar levels in her blood. She'd been diagnosed with Diabetes type I.

Today my boyfriend and his parents went to visit Samantha** and her parents in the hospital. She looked really well, and thankfully gained some weight (which was good because she was really skinny when we had seen her two weeks before).

This is a picture of her hugging her Doctor Teddy which was gifted to her. I'm so glad she's alright. She's just the brightest ray of sunshine you could imagine. A bright girl both in personality and mind. We were all really upset last night to hear that news. I can only imagine what a whirl wind this has been (and will be for a while) for her parents. We're all wishing her well.

There's a second picture I wanted to post. The nurse is showing her father how to draw an insulin needle properly. Samantha** sits silently staring at it in the background, bravely holding up her sleeve.


**Name has been changed at request of parent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.