Evening sky drama

It was strange being out with my own G9 again today after the two weeks with Derek's grown-up Olympus. I won't go so far as to say that I went to use the viewfinder, but it did feel strange to rely all the time on the display screen.

It was mid afternoon by the time I got out of the house after a busy morning of work. Among the to-do list was a visit to the bank to arrange an international fund transfer to pay for apartment rental in Lyon. The owner emailed bank details yesterday and I went armed with all this info and filled in all the boxes on the InterPay form. Ursula behind the desk had a problem, though, and the transfer won't go through until I contact the owner in France again to double-check his BIC (bank identifier code), which wasn't showing up on my bank's system. An internet check when I went home suggests that there's absolutely nothing wrong with the details I've been given, but sorting this out will have to wait until tomorrow.

There was some good news when I got home. We'd enquired about a likely-looking apartment in Marseille, and there was an email waiting to confirm availability and quoting a good price. I sent off an enthusiastic reply confirming our booking. That'll probably involve another visit to the bank to pay a deposit for that stay too.

In between, I wandered around the Stephen's Green area again. A couple of years ago this would have been because of wanting to wait for the evening rush to clear, but that doesn't really seem to apply now that the Celtic Tiger is no longer roaring. This time it was just an excuse to re-familiarise myself with the G9 and get a blip in the bag. You really never do know what you'll stumble on in places you think you know really well. This was Clarendon Row around 7.00 pm, looking towards the laneway which leads onto South William Street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.