Adda

By Adda

Goa monsoon

My morning started earlier than my other two mates'. Figuring that it will be at least an hour before they wake up, I decided to take a stroll to the beach which was hardly half a km from the hotel. This is the beach where the Mandovi river joins the sea and it was quite evident from the color of water. The water was not crystal blue or green, rather it was muddy brown. I went and stool near a group of young men playing beach football (5 a side). Football is the most popular sport in Goa, one really can't talk about Goa without talking about football. The men looked like from the army or police. I stood and watched their game. I even played the role of ball-boy for them. I counted the heads...10 - even number. No way I can squeeze in. Just then one of them asked if I would like to substitute him - just what I was waiting for. I threw my shirt and slippers on the sand and jumped right in. It was after years that I was kicking the ball. I ran, I fell, I kicked. I played probably for just 5-10 mins...the two shots that I hit on the goal failed to find their way in. As they got ready to leave, I asked whether they're from the army, to which one of them replied - "firemen". I smiled and thanked them for letting me play with them.

I started walking back to the hotel. After walking for some time, I realized that the buildings and shops are not looking familiar...and I should have reached the hotel by now. I was lost. I landed up in some other street. The hotel is a straight road from the beach and one just cannot lose his way there - no matter how new he is to the place. But I did, because I am special :) Real travellers never get lost, they just find new ways. I did manage to reach the hotel after some directions from the locals and was in fact surprised to see the direction from which I reached the hotel.

The morning then started with breakfast at Cafe Central - an old local bakery running since 1932. The small shop was heavily crowded with locals looking for breads, cakes and snacks for the household. We literally had to push ourselves through to the counter. The choice was obvious - local specialities only. No trip is complete without the taste of the local cuisine and we were glad that we didn't go to one of those commercial chains for breakfast.

After beaches, if there's anything that Goa is known for, it is the churches. Some of India's most famous and grand churches are in Goa. Goa was under Portugese regime till 1961 and they have left a rich legacy behind. Two of the most beautiful churches are right across the road from each other and one can actually spend hours admiring the grandeur.

Post lunch, we headed to a secluded beach in North Goa. It was another ride through pouring rains. In monsoon, one can see a completely different Goa. It is lush green all around, paddy fields, black clouds in the sky and straight roads ending in the horizon. We were in no hurry and were rather slowly savouring all the beauty around us. I really love the flexibility that a bike provides. We were stopping everywhere at will - by the fields, a streetside tea joint, an interesting old building - options were countless. Travelling is best when done without a destination in mind.

The rest of the evening was spent at a shack in one of the popular beaches. It was a rather commercial beach-pub playing some loud music. Not my kind of music so I picked up my beer and stepped out to the beach. I and pixelart talked at length about travel and adventure - something that we both hold dear to our hearts. 2 breezers and 4 beers down, it was time to leave. Another 20km ride back to hotel through the same dark roads, no rains though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.