R.I.P.

Today as I reached office, I got to know about a tragic news. One of my ex team mates met with an accident and died on the spot. I was shell shocked at the news. He was coming to office when he ran into an accident with a water tanker truck, which ran over him, killing him almost instantaneously. Next 5 hours of my day was spent at the police station and the hospital helping people take care of the police reports, formalities, post-mortem etc. His was living in Hyderabad, about 7-8 hours away from his parents, for work. Fortunately his brother and sister stay in this city itself and they could come down to the morgue immediately. Both were quite strong but the younger brother was the one who displayed commendable strength. He went in the morgue to identify the body, completed the formalities with the police and the hospital staff, took care of his sister and was also greeting and thanking people who came over to lend a hand, and at times a shoulder. I didn't see him crying or losing his cool even for a single moment. The accident was severe and I better skip the graphic details of the scene here. Even when the body came out after post mortem, I could see the disfigured face.

In the middle of all this, everyone probably forgot about the truck driver, who was detained at the police station. From the details we got from the police, it didn't seem to be an obvious mistake of the driver to me, but again, I can't tell anything for sure. Sometimes, it is nobody's mistake; it is just an unfortunate event at an unfortunate place at an unfortunate time and somebody is unfortunate enough to be there at the fateful meeting of all the three. On those times, one can't really blame anyone for the consequences. The driver was a poor fellow probably in his late 30s. He stood there at the police station with his heart in his throat. The sadness and remorse was clearly evident in his eyes. It seemed to me that he was wishing he could turn the clock around and do whatever it takes to save the deceased. I didn't feel any anger (which at times is natural) towards him; rather, I pitied him...don't know why.

While coming back home, today my speed was far less than usual. I saw many others overtake me from either side - someone riding with the helmet carefully placed on the petrol tank (rather than on their head) and some others riding with one hand, the other being busy attending a call on the cellphone. I pitied them...I pitied them for not pitying their dear life. At times, we wait for something to happen before we start treasuring what we have been bestowed by the Almighty.

RIP Vino, hope your family gets all the strength and courage they need at this hour of sorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.