Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Forlorn furniture

Woops!

I failed to spot that it was after midnight when I originally uploaded this, and accepted the default date for the entry rather than the actual one. Thanks to MissRAble for pointing out my error -- Duh! I've copied comments and hope they come through okay. Sorry for any confusion.

Now I've deleted it from Monday and am trying to get it back up for Sunday as it was intended. I think I said we had a good day (and we certainly had). Carl was house- and dog-sitting, I had DART complications due to electronic failure at Dún Laoghaire station, but we sorted it out, Carl picked me up in his Mum's car and we went back to watch the Hollyoaks omnibus,exercised the dogs, and watched a few episodes of Yes Minister before going over to our friend Niall's place to watch the Brazilian Grand Prix. I let Carl do the work when it came to exercising the dogs, and just pointed the camera at the dogs (not very successfully) and the lovely garden.

I have to admit that we cheered when Lewis had his mechanical problem moment, and our hearts were in our mouths afterwards when Kimi Raikkonnen stayed out for those crucial couple of extra laps and came back out from the pits in the lead which he never lost subsequently. Kimi's winning the Driver's Championship is better in the long term for Formula One than a win for Hamilton would have been. And the ITV coverage was disgusting in the extreme and reinforced our pleasure in the fact that Hamilton did not take the title. We all respect and admire the British reputation for sporting fair play, but ITV did no favours whatsoever for this reputation with their approach to today's events. Thankfully we had Setanta as an alternative, and were able to get away form the one-sided let's-concentrate-on-the-loser-and forget-about-the-guy-who-actually-won attitude which was quite sickening in its jingoistic attitude.

After the race, we unwound for a while, I unwound further in a couple of pubs on the way home, and resorted to a taxi to get me home at the end of the night. Oh deare, it's such a long time to March when the whole circus starts all over again. A brilliant season, one we'll remember for a long, long time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.