The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Sandside - estuary in monochrome

In contrast to yesterday's blip, there were no reflections in the bay at Sandside this evening. It was breezy and this was ruffling the surface of the estuary. The mudflats and water were bathed in a silvery light, so I thought I would try this in black and white. This seems to me to pick out the textures of the mud and water rather better than in colour. Light was shafting through gaps in the clouds, and this is faintly visible.

I tend to feel guilty about so frequently blipping the estuary, but I have to remind myself that this was one of the primary reasons why we chose to live here. The estuarine environment is so dynamic physically, and equally the quality of the light is constantly changing. Several of our local artists such as Tracy Levine and Fiona Clucas take much of their inspiration from these qualities of light and texture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.