Donita's Daily Dose

By pondosakate

Monarch Caterpillar No. 2 Morphs

The second of the three monarch caterpillars morphed in the open today, so I was able to get a clear shot. This is the last shot I took before it no longer resembled a caterpillar. Unfortunately, I missed the Superman bit where he ripped off his caterpillar suit. I came back nine minutes after this shot, and he had already done the phone booth thing. At any rate, this is a much better look than I got of caterpillar no. 1.

The third caterpillar also morphed today. Like No. 1, it chose to do it at the top of the "pavilion" so I didn't even try to get a photo.

With luck I should have three healthy butterflies to release in a couple of weeks. If I'm really lucky, I might get to see one emerge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.