GeeCee's blips

By grandecheese

Gothic Library Series

Following the news today that Public Libraries are under threat - people are not visiting them and there are suggestions to use pubs as an alternative book lending facility - thought I'd show you an example of "turning the clock back".

This is Cathays Branch Library in Cardiff. The Council has just spent £1mill on rennovating it and what an amazing job they've done. It's eye-catching and demands attention. I must admit to never having been inside, it's on my walk home, but I've now decided I must.

Cardiff has a wealth of housing and public buildings of this age. The Library stands next door to one of the most interesting Victorian graveyards that you can do guided walks around - again an outing for the future!

So not so much a skyline - but worthy of the tag!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.