Bronze Plum Blossom

These are always the first of the plum blossoms to open, well before the others in my garden. The tree is just for show. I love the dark red foliage. The plums are hopelessly sour to the end. DaveH might find a use for them, but I don't eat them.

Bellbird Today I was working near the bird feeders. I was standing just two metres from the honey water container when the bellbird arrived for a sip. She dipped her beak into the honey, straightened up and looked quickly about, including at me, and then dipped in the honey again. She did this 6 or 7 times, at my eye level and there was nothing between us. There was a moment when I wished I had my camera, but I soon forgot that as I watched in wonder. She was so vigilant, but she did not consider me as a threat.

The male and female bellbirds that visited recently did not stay. I was glad because they gave the resident female a hard time.

One year ago was another plum blossom. Last year spring came a month early, which caused a lot of trouble, because there were months of frosty weather to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.