One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

On the Swords edge

Went to see some comedy late last night, to support my mate's new monthly venture in Swords.
The acts were good, I even spotted the depressed looking Nirvana fan (ever seen a cheerful one?) laugh on a number of occasions!
I could not quite understand why but I had butterflies in my stomach during the 20 minute drive to the Swords Comedy Club.
And then I remembered that there was no reason to feel apprehensive. I was just going there as a spectator.
I haven't seen much comedy since my mate Mark and I did our Riley Air act around Dublin's small comedy clubs almost 10 year ago.
Since then, I haven't really done anything nearly as scary as climbing onto a stage with the sole purpose of making people laugh.
I enjoyed it while it lasted, until that fateful night in the Guilded Balloon in 2003.
Riley Air crashed that night, and there were no survivors.

I find it a lot easier to make people laugh from the comfort of my keyboard. You'll never seen a pint glass fly at you from at 22" LCD screen.

The guys on the night were very good. It was the type of crowd that could have gone either way. And the three of them managed to get them on their side during that all important first minute on stage.

Well done Andrew Stanley, Fred Cook, and especially Pat McDonnell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.