horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Willow Warbler

A day bookended by a Sparrowhawk... I see the Duddingston raptor quite a lot, but till now a half-decent picture of it has eluded me for the EdinburghWildlife website. This morning the usual Sunday wander in the Figgy saw it being mobbed by a Corvid police force consisting of Magpies and Carrion Crows; then this evening with some time to kill I took a wander down and saw it once again being mobbed - this time too far away, but it decided to come back, flying high, but pretty close.

But you get the Willow Warbler cos it's a better shot of a sweet little bird that I've been returning to Duddingston Loch to hunt out, little knowing they were also in the Figgy, which just edges out a fabulous little framed Juvenile Blue Tit.

In between times we tidied up the garden a little more; I watched the tarnished final stages of the latest test between England and Pakistan; we headed out to Currie Wood near Gorebridge, and right next to Borthwick Castle for a really enjoyable little wander (maintained by the Woodland Trust, I'm intending on sending them some wildlife shots to see if they'd like me to take part in their volunteer photography scheme); came home via Mel's dad's place; then got to our home in turn for my mum and brother popping by en route north.

And believe it or not I'm not too bothered about work tomorrow since most things are under control, my boss (nice bloke) is on holiday so there are likely to be no worrying phonecalls, and we're both off on Tuesday for our 4th attempt to land on the Bass Rock. So Sumatran Curry and beer (non-Sumatran) to come, and just.... relax (I'll save anything annoying enough for a rant for during the week... :P).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.