One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Finn(zy-Bob)

This judicious use of parentheses helps me to emphasize the fact that his nickname is Finnzy-Bob* while the name appearing on his passport (some craic it was to get him to meet the stringent criteria for the passport photograph...) is Finn. Just Finn.

And that was the problem for us. While most families opt for an easy-to-use diminutive** (is that the correct word Red?) for their kids whose name contains more than 3 syllables (two sometimes), we have been using an elongative for Finnzy-Bob. Because it suits him. He looks like a Finnzy-Bob.

And I thought that I'd try to get a cute portrait of him while he is still young and cute (having spent too much time training my lens on total strangers lately).
But something tells me that I have missed the boat. Finnzy-Bob is already giving me the what-d'ya-think-you'r-doin-there look.

* I know of at least one challenged blipper who thought that this was his real name...
** Have you ever noticed that diminutives are used by everyone except mothers and spouses? Here is an example:
- Hi Mrs Grogan. Is Mick here? Can he come out to play?
- No Eamon (Eamo). [pinched voice] Michael [/pinched voice] is not in right now. I'll tell him you called

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.