Forty Foot splash

I got a brainwave on Friday and followed through on it today. Rather than watch the belgian Grand Prix in my own place, I went over to Carl's and watched it there. The main reason (apart from the fact that his Freesat box does HD and mine doesn't) was that I could use the red button to get oat from Jonathan Legard's dreadful TV commentary and switch to BBC Radio Five Live instead. Good old Spa! It has a wonderful tendency to do things with the weather, and today was no exception, with bouts of rain adding spice to proceedings at a couple of times during the race. Silly Sebastian Vettel did himself no favours by messing up an overtaking maneuver and crashing into Jenson Button. All in all a good race.

I'd been just a bit restless during it, as the weather looked glorious. So I didn't wait for any of the post-race analysis but went out right away for some fresh air and a nice bracing walk along the seafront from Glasthule to Sandycove and the Forty Foot. The tide was in, and the wind was strong, so the sea was doing great things with spray. This splash near Sandycove almost made it as blip of the day, but I finally plumped for this one because it seemed to sum up the day better. It sure was busy around Sandycove and the Forty Foot. There's absolutely no way I'd even think of going into the water at the Forty Foot in conditions like this, but the very conditions seemed to be attracting more people than would usually be there: especially more than a fair share of young daredevils.

Bigger splash

(I've also back-blipped yesterday. Nothing much. Only photo of the day. Bit of a nothing blip, really.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.