River Bank Holiday

Normal work day today for us today, which was a real P.I.T.A. as the sun shone brighter and stronger and longer than it has done for weeks. If you were off today then you really nailed it weather-wise.

I decided to take a bit of detour around some major roadworks (major for the Wee County that is) and ended up on roads I hadn't driven for years. With my blip goggles on and with the spectacular light from the sun in the early evening there's some nice shots to be had out and about on these back roads.

In the end I stopped off down by the old Alloa Harbour to take in a bit of nature at its finest. I would have hung around a bit longer but the peace was broken by a slurred "you get some nice phoaties mate?". Two bare chested tattooist canvases had arrived with a Lidl carrier bag full of various high ABV cans, a proper Alloa Pick-n-Mix from the looks of it, and I'd obviously piqued their interest as I was snapping away. This was then followed up with a request asking if I had any smokes to which my reply was "Sorry, no, it's a dirty habit, you should just stick to the drink". I think the realisation I was maybe having a pop at them was just about sinking in and as he considered my retort over a swig of Strongbow I made a hasty exit before both me and my camera ended up in the Forth.

Still, he did give me a cheery wave as I drove off. At least, it looked like he was waving.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.