Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Barley Twist

Decidedly cool here in Jacksonville today, the temperature only managed to reach 88 degrees F. I think the breeze was the reason for the chilly conditions. :-)

Joking aside, it was nice to be able to venture further afield and spend a little longer looking for suitable shots. For the first time in many weeks, I did not have to change my shirt when I got back home.

Mind you, doing the yard work this afternoon still resulted in a t-shirt soaked with sweat. Obviously, I need to walk at a more leisurely pace with the mower. :-)

On my photographic safari, I headed to the parade of shops at the corner of College and Stockton. The bakery was deserted and I began to think that it was another victim of the economic downturn until I saw that the notice with its opening hours showed that it was closed on Monday. That struck me as odd for a bakery. Okay, it may well be open on a Saturday and they want to have a weekend but where I come from corner shops were always open six days a week, some even seven. Since the revision of the Sunday Trading laws, seven has become more the norm than the exception.

While looking at the notice, my eye was caught by the plum-coloured barley twist forming part of the door frame. It was something about that colour, with the surrounding black and then the yellow brick that appealed to me.

I hold my hands up to it not being the most interesting composition in terms of its subject but that plum colour sure does look good to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.