Framer's Intent...

By Scrybe

Jennifer John - Supreme Singer and Songwriter.

Jennifer John performing at Studio 2, Parr St, 30th August 2010. Jennifer is an awesome singer, and well deserves a listen. Her songs can be heard over at

I'd asked her yesterday if she minded me snapping a few shots today, and she agreed. A true professional, while I was snapping away and she sang a line with the word "you" in it, she looked straight down the lens and pointed my way. As you can see, I didn't waste the opportunity.

I also snapped my friend Kaya Herstad and her band (also worth checking out if you like soul-rock sorta stuff). In all I got about 100 images and I'd say about 75% are definitely usable, with about half being really good shots. It's easy photographing musicians you like, especially if you know them well enough to ask beforehand if they're okay with you using flash and getting close (both are needed for me to shoot well in these conditions with my current gear). I had a bunch of shots that could have easily been used for today, but I shot this one and just knew, even before i checked it back on the little Nikon screen, I just knew it was a winner. Massive props to Jennifer for making it happen.

This is my first edit using Lightroom software - I'm totally new to that software, and edited very quickly. Not sure I did a spot on job, but good enough for now, I guess. I'm starting to wonder if I should make sure my computer screen is properly calibrated (or at least check out these images on other people's computers) to make sure my tweaks actually take effect the way I intend them to. But the real reason for any shoddyness this time is purely because I'm new to the software and to regular editing work in general. I didn't spend long on it because it's already 1.20am here, and I need to get to bed. And I seem to have included a copyright stamp somehow. Oops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.