Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

1A

I played along with it, I guess.

Desperately missing my parents already whom I'd hugged and kissed repeatedly at Heathrow, at that place which is so fraught with emotion, passport control. And so close, the place of opposing emotions which I had experienced just 6 weeks ago on the day when Mum met us all, thoroughly disorientated from an overnight 10hr flight, but rejoicing to see her.

And since Economy, Economy Plus and Business were all taken, our late booking due to Reuben being critically ill in April and having to reschedule, who was I to complain if this was all we could get was First on airmiles? 1A and 1B.

And so, Callum enjoyed a lovely silver service steak meal on board the flight from London to LA.

The attendant offered me champagne. Yes please. Wine with dinner. Yes please. Port. Yes please. She was extremely insistent I enjoy myself. Is this a responsible way to behave on an 11hr flight by myself with two toddler boys? Well, I guess they're not going anywhere here, that's for sure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.