Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Favourite place

Mama after swimming at the school's therapy pool today.

"What's your favourite place Callum. The pool or Disney?"
"School", replies Callum.

A beautiful morning in the pool with Callum. He jumps excitedly into the warm therapeutic waters, possibly hits the bottom and bobs back up with a smile upon his face. The feeling of the end of term descends upon us and we all revel in the water games. There are some great bonds that form within our group of mums and a few dads, sharing these precious early intervention times at school in the comfort of the observation room or during the pool on Fridays. It's a rare experience and I only wish I could have enjoyed the same with Reuben had it not been for his trach at the time.

Oh, I can't wish away the days till October 7th when swimming will resume there. We break at the end of next week for the summer holiday which coincides with university schedules and then there's a pool break upon our return. It seems too close to Callum's graduation in November, upon which our 3 years at UCLA will finally come to an end. Callum was a babe within my womb when I toured it and fell in love with the pines and the warmth of the programme.

Can't wait to get back to the Annenberg Beach House tomorrow for some more pool time.

Exhausted from last night after shooting and exhibiting at the MOLAA exhibition. My head touched the pillow at 230am, much like it's been this week. There are indeed challenges to being a full time mum and a part time photographer. Thankfully though, both boys slept at home, quite a rarity and I indulged in the same pleasure with Reuben nestled in beside me...

Mama after swimming at the school's therapy pool today.

"What's your favourite place Callum. The pool or Disney?"
"School", replies Callum.

Oh, I can't wish away the days till October 7th when swimming will resume there. We break at the end of next week for the summer holiday which coincides with university schedules and then there's a break upon our return. It seems too close to Callum's graduation in November, upon which our 3 years at UCLA will finally come to an end. Callum was a babe within my womb when I toured it and fell in love with the pines.

Can't wait to get back to the Annenberg Beach House tomorrow for some more pool time.

Exhausted from last night after shooting and exhibiting at the MOLAA exhibition. My head touched the pillow at 230am, much like it's been this week. There are indeed challenges to being a full time mum and a part time photographer. Thankfully though, both boys slept this afternoon, quite a rarity and I indulged in the same pleasure with Reuben nestled in beside me...

MOLAA dreamy bride...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.