Mainichi no Kioku

By saki

Fed up!

This is my second time posting this!!! I finished up the whole post and when I clicked 'Preview', it asked me to upload the photo again! I almost have a urge to smack and slap and whack my computer, but I realised is not its fault so I stopped...

Anyway, the photos shows 2 $1 coins of Singapore! Coin on the right was a rare coin made under the Singapore Mint Set 1986. I don't think we ever have any silver $1 coin, and coin of that size, I certainly doubt it, probably that's why it is rare. The left side coin is the current $1 coin that we are using. You can see the differences in both color and size.

But the only similarity between them is that they both have an octagon on it. There is a story behind the octagon and that's the reason why I like the $1 coin most among all other coins!

[ Reverend Hong was an expert at feng shui and after taking lots of readings he said that the proposed constellation of MRTs tunnels and the huge amount of metal being driven deep into the Singapore bed rock would sever Singapore's Dragon Vein which is bad, bad, bad for the nation. Reverend Hong then offered the following advice: "If you want to continue with project, then u must give every Singaporean household - Indian, Malay, Eurasian, Christian, Buddhist, Muslim - every single one of them a Chinese Ba Gua. Or else Singapore will sink." ]

The octagon represents the Chinese Ba Gua. I think it is pretty smart of out minister to think of that. Now the Chinese Ba Gua Fengshui elements are everywhere! Probably that's why Singapore is so prosperous now...

I realised I have quite a few old coins at home. Maybe I should go dig out my old notes and blip about them as well!!!

I hope Shana will be able to get the LUNA SEA concerts tickets!!!! Also, congratulations to Eita who just got married and is gonna be a father soon!!!!

Saki.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.