Escaping Erebus

By Escaping_Erebus

A Commentary On Time - Part 1

(Today has been re-uploaded with only the picture of today. Please click here to see the full image, with both pictures side by side.)

This series is going to be a reflection of then and now. By looking back on our days that have passed, I feel we achieve a more detailed look at how things have become the way they are today.

Hoever, this project has been made difficult by the blipfoto rules. So, to see my series, you're just going to have to click a link each time...


__________________________________________________



When I saw the photo from 1992 in my mothers album, I couldn't help but look out my window and be baffled by how this tree has grown exponentially over the course of my life. It seemed to creep up on me, always there but never moving. Or at least one thinks when something alive is looked upon every day. It's kind of like a child growing up. Suddenly you wake up one morning and they're off to hockey practice. What happened to practicing saying mama?

When I look at this tree, I not only see the days that have passed by. Growing up playing beside it in my back yard, or knocking the snow off it's needles and watching it sprinkle downward. But now I think, "What will become of the future of this tree?"

My parents have lived in this house since it was built. We're talking 30 years here. But they obviously won't forever. Will future owners admire it's greatness? The beauty of the lush green even in the dead of winter? Will it stand to see another family come and go?

The things it's seen. Planted here when it was no bigger than a bundle of branches. My mother paid five bucks for it. Can you imagine what a tree of its size is worth now?


__________________________________________________



For those who don't have an account here but would like to comment, I have just created a guestbook which you can sign here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.