D77

By D77

A clean bit of pavement

[EcoDad]
Work was ok.
[/EcoDad]

Actually, work was pretty depressing. It's such a joke. However, like I've stressed previously, I know how it all works now, so I'm going to play the big old Inshallah game just like everyone else. I'd use the phrase 'Couldnae organise a piss-up in a brewery', but it's ironically unsuitable in this part of the world.

After my daily dump-off in the backstreets, I went back for this blipbanked image and ended up chatting to a young man from Sudan who talked about his escape from quite a brutal situation in his home country. Desperate as the streets of Cairo are, violent crime is extremely rare and he seemed to at least be surviving with a better standard of...actually, I don't how to articulate stuff like this, so I'll stop before I do the situation any injustice. He was a charming, relaxed, extremely articulate guy, and whilst I didn't manage to take a useable photo, the conversation will stick with me for a while.

It can be easy to forget just how easy we've got it at times.

I checked with an expert* and the graffiti reads: "For more tips on naturally occurring primary colours, please call raheny_eye on +353...." There's a little bit of green trying to spoil things though.

In other news, I'm tempted to pop along to Cairo Zoo and have a wee chat with the idiot 40 seconds into this rather depressing video. I dread to think what goes on when nobody is watching.

*me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.