Tourist

By tourist

I lived on the moon.

Day 2 of silly internet problems restricting me to my insecure state. I just typed and typed and typed away some random drivel which actually read out better than 99% of my other blips.

It started off with some pretty witty comments regarding a few things then i went on to talk about how impressed at how varied the style of music i tend to listen to is. I linked a video to one of the songs in particular that i've grown quite fond of.

I then finish of the blip text with some sort of wishful talk that will hopefully mean i can have these sorts of songs in my head while i am on my 15 hour bus journey to my next Aussie destination. My iPod is missing a wire for me to copy songs and videos from Australia as i hadn't planned on buying a computer while being here. Oh well.

But now, i figured i might as well keep the text brief while actually taking about todays blip. There isn't a great deal to it, it's a ferry and to the right is one of the harbour taxi's which i think is pretty cool to see nipping about. The taxi drivers on the boat cabs are predictably foreign, and when i say foreign i don't just mean Australian. I've yet to meet a land or sea cabbie that is actually from Australia here in Australia, not that i spend hours every night thinking about it.

I've deliberately dulled down the colours a bit and changed the saturation, i think by doing this it sort of gives you the impression of how dull and miserable the weather was today. Alot of people i've met seemed to think it was going to be sunny all the time and there would be limited rain here, they were wrong. Whilst it's been more sunny and hot in Sydney since my arrival than rain, when it is cold and wet it is COLD and WET. It's good though, this country needs more rain.

Whilst it isn't a global disaster, i'm surprised at how little the media in the UK even report on this. There was a point last Summer (southern hemisphere summer) when the BBC website did report on how farmers around Australia were committing suicide due to the fact the government took away their water supplies to feed the cities so they couldn't feed their livestock and eventually they died therefore giving the farmers no income. This is all because for the last decade Australia has been going through a major drought. It's a shame, and to a certain extent it did make me feel guilty for coming here and using their water.

Whilst nobody in the UK wants more rain, people are really glad to have it here. Believe it or not, i'm sort of glad too despite having more rainy weather than sunny weather since arriving a month ago.

I hope you're all doing well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.