Donita's Daily Dose

By pondosakate

Monarch Chrysalis

Many thanks to all who commented on my 200th blip yesterday. I was really surprised and touched by all your support.

Today's blip is of the finished monarch chrysalis, which has now hardened and is no longer very transparent. In another week or so, it should look quite different, again becoming transparent with a monarch butterfly showing through.

I was expecting the mystery butterfly to emerge from its chrysalis, which formed before the monarch's. Nothing has happened, so I did some more research on swallowtail chrysalises, which I think this is. I learned that that the swallowtail hibernates in the chrysalis stage, so I may not get to see the butterfly until spring. I couldn't find anything to tell me how long the hibernation might take here in Northern California (or anywhere else, as a matter of fact).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.