Donita's Daily Dose

By pondosakate

The final Step

This monarch emerged sometime between 1:30 pm and 6:00 pm today. I missed it. It was the first of three to form a chrysalis only ten days ago. It changed from green to mostly dark yesterday. Today the butterfly was definitely visible inside the chrysalis, but I was surprised that it emerged so soon. Tomorrow I'll let it go. The second chrysalis has just begun to turn. Since it's outside the "pavilion," I should be able to get a better photo of it when it's near ready.

I tried out a different macro setup on a spider today. I used my 300 lens and a couple of extension tubes. It wasn't a great success. I didn't get anything very sharp. I'm not sure if it was the setup or the wind, so I'll keep experimenting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.