The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Job Creation

While old colleagues were hearing of another bah blah hundreds of redundancies, I was caught in a job creation scheme of my own. In the simple act of washing my upstairs back windows, I dislodged the cracked putty at the bottom of the frames. Bah. Off to buy new putty. Then, by taking off the batons around the window, the old sash cord broke. Ach, weel, it's all fixed again now but really, that wiped out a chunk of my day when I was all ready to do eff all and relax.

As for those redundancies, isn't it about time our spineless workers did the obvious thing and took on the bosses? Occupy the executive offices! Stop the bloody traffic. Honestly, if I hadn't taken the bribe myself, I'd be leading the charge. It's a one way street. There's nowt that can't be done at a quarter the price out the far east. Apart from tourism. Where's my tartan bunnet?

One thing I did manage to see was Phil Braham's excellent FALLING SHADOWS IN ARCADIA at the RSA (above). Later, met the auld worthies for beer. The night bus is now three quid!!! Strewth. Tomorrow I shall hibernate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.