Pieces of a Jigsaw Puzzle

By szahra

Humanity First

This Oil painting was painted by my aunt (father's sister) in 1972, which makes it 38 years old. When she was painting it, she consulted her father (my late grandfather) regarding different religions as he was a scholar of different languages and was well read in different religions, otherwise a medical doctor by profession.

Having explained the history of the painting, I wanted to say that a picture is worth a thousand words and this one poignantly describes my deep thoughts; The ones I have been having for the last few weeks. The main reason for the thoughts is my country which is shambling to pieces and in my humble view it is the intolerance of one human being towards the other which causes such events to occur ... and I am not talking about the floods here.

If I keep on expressing my feelings and thoughts, I will keep on writing and writing. So, I will stop here and let this 38 year old painting (when the world was a much better place) keep you wondering and pondering ...

If I knew something that would serve my country but would harm mankind, I would never reveal it; for I am a citizen of humanity first and by necessity, and a citizen of France second, and only by accident. ~Montesquieu

Peace!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.