Earthquake

At 4:35AM this morning.

My home is 2 story and my bedroom is upstairs. I have a few minor bruises from being thrown to the floor and then into a doorway. It seemed to go on forever. But I am fine.

When I could I fled downstairs. Once is stopped I met my neighbours outside. Back inside I spent about an hour under the stairs as regular aftershocks rolled through.

Then I tried a stint back upstairs in bed but the shakes feel worse up there so I came downstairs to the couch. Comfy but no sleep.

Unbelievably I have no apparent damage. I haven't lost my water supply but power went during the big quake. It was restored early afternoon. It was only then that I got to see the incredible damage of the central city and other areas that many of you would have seen before many of us did.

Where I live there are chimneys fallen, a few fences and parts of old brick work that have fallen down. One neighbour had their van crushed by a fallen chimney. But the roads and landscape looks normal. Normal but it feels eerie.

While I feel 'wired' and very on edge, I'm also extremely grateful my home is still standing and has survived. Many others in my city and outlying areas haven't fared as well and have homes with substantial damage or unlivable.

We all share the common link of fear and uncertainty tonight. The aftershocks keep us all on edge. Many you hear rumbling and thumping before they hit. It's scary.

Not sure how much sleep I'll get tonight. Here's hoping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.