just be

By justbe

Waiting out the storm

The Hurricane
by William Carlos Williams

The tree lay down
on the garage roof
and stretched, You
have your heaven,
it said, go to it.


A weakened Hurricane Earl is passing over us after terrifying the East Coast for days. Atlantic Canada could get the brunt of the storm, but we're getting a good lashing rain and it's blowing up a bit of a gale. Hopefully the unusual heat and humidity will blow out to sea with the storm. We're watching the rain and sipping coffee, chatting about yesterday. I am sorry about my lack of comments, something really important to me, but vacation and four house guests probably cut me some slack.

We spent three hours yesterday aboard a knock around schooner, the Sylvina W. Beal out of Eastport, Maine. We went on a whale watch on the 99 year old 86 foot vessel. The light was flat, but the seas were calm even with a hurricane blearing down on us. The 88 ft finback whales entertained us so close to our vessel and the explosive sound from their blowhole was amazing. It was an incredible day with our close friends, two of which I've known 40 years. One is fighting ovarian cancer on the second time around and it's quite a battle. To be all together is the greatest gift. Two folks are here all the way from California, loving every minute, storm and all. I'll link some of yesterdays photos on flickr.

I had this entry all completed, didn't press something and lost everything. I'm rushing now in case we lose our power with toppling trees. Grrr.

Finback Whale

"Thar she blows"

Cold enough for my Icelandic sweater






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.