The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Jodrell Bank

The long drive back from Southampton to Cumbria today. In Cheshire we diverted to see Jodrell Bank, the iconic radiotelescope, that I have never visited before, but have so many memories of from "The sky at night" with Patrick Moore when I was in school. The huge dish dominates the countryside around.

I took lots of pictures of the dish (and nothing else today), I had pictures of it with cattle grazing, with maize in the foreground, framed by aspen trees, and with fruiting apple trees. In the end I opted to blip this of the dish alone uncluttered by anything else, hopefully this conveys something of its scale and dominance.

Home tonight and I am catching up on my back blips from the last week. I have now added entries for Thursday and Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.