The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Season of mists...

Levens Park, Cumbria

I hadn't listened to the weather forecast and was expecting another grey, wet day. So I was surprised to see a clear sky when I looked out of the curtains at 6 am. It was another scramble to get dressed and out before the mists burned off. In the event, they were less ephemeral than is usually the case, and this was taken at about 7.30.

I was stuck for choice for a blip. At my first stop, the mists were rolling over the fields of Arnside Moss and I watched a sparrowhawk flying low over the marshes on a sortie towards the roadside trees and saltmarsh beyond. There were beautiful cloud reflections in the still water of the estuary, with a backdrop of billowing low cloud below the fells of the Lake District. But I've settled for this photo from Levens Park, a location I've not blipped before. Here the River Kent winds through the Park towards the end of its journey from the fells to the estuary. Light was shafting through the mist and trees as the sun came up through the light cloud.

Blipping early today, as we shall be going to the finale event at Mint Fest in Kendal this evening. Mr and Mrs Longshanks are coming for a cup of tea before spending the evening with their friends in Milnthorpe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.