WorldLens

By worldlens

Newlyweds!

Congratulations to the newlyweds, Phil & Lab!

The wedding (my first in Thailand) was beautiful and fun. What really stood out to me was the process leading up to the wedding. In Thailand it is common for weddings to be held at the family's home or a store, but this wedding was at a hotel. All the girls in the dorm were excited about getting ready for it, pretty much going crazy about it. They didn't have a part the the ceremony itself but were just giddy about the event. To add to the excitement, this was the first wedding for many of the girls to be held at a hotel. (Hotel=fancy. Fancy=need to dress up even more).

We had to go dress shopping and shoe shopping (not for the bride, for all of us who were attending the wedding). I needed some clarification on what was appropriate to wear to a wedding, so I asked my language teachers. They said you should wear something "fluffy." Fluffy? Yes, fluffy. From what my friends are wearing, this means lace, shiny, flowers, and layers to make it poof. Those who know me, know that is not really my style. Eventually I found something that worked for me though.

The morning of the wedding one of the girls was draining egg white out of an egg. I questioned what it was for and she responded, "Makeup for the wedding. We have to look beautiful." And they all did look beautiful, especially the bride!

Congratulations once again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.