dailykeith

By dailykeith

There be dragons

I spotted this guy hanging around outside a Cheltenham restaurant on my way home from work this evening.

It got me wondering about why Thai establishments should be associated with dragons.

Well, apparently they represent some kind of supernatural or magic power, offer protection and are associated with wisdom and longevity.

They are the most common mythical creatures to be found in Thai art and literature.

Another thing I didn't know was that Thai dragons are said to be made up of nine parts of different animals: the head of a chameleon, a carp's scales, a stag's horns, hare's eyes, the ears of a water buffalo, a snake's neck, a clam's belly, paws of a tiger and an eagle's claws.

Johnny Morris would have a field day if one of these was on Animal Magic. Oops! Showing my age!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.