dailykeith

By dailykeith

Cheers

I've enjoyed the occasional visit to Stroud's Crown and Sceptre pub recently and I have to say the landlord there is something of a genius.

He has a track record for turning pubs around and making them successful hubs of the community - and he's making a very good job of it in this instance.

Today was a real treat. My friend Steve and I went along to the pub's beer and cider festival and discovered it was a lot more than that.

The pub staged its own version of a village show. A huge marquee was erected to house entries for a produce competition, and the event had a bit of everything - from splendid marrows and sponge cakes to misshapen vegetables.

Bear in mind that this pub is in a town, albeit with allotments quite close by.

The most encourging aspect of the event was the way it acted as a magnet for the community. We were there in the early afternoon and the pub garden was packed with people from round and about having a great time.

Anyway, the list of beers was so long you had to give the bar staff a number, rather than a name.

I tried number seven - Uley's Laurie Lee ale - and found it extremely pleasant. Steve sampled something with the name (if I remember right) Wicked Blonde!

Anyway, I think it's time to raise a glass to the Crown and Sceptre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.