La vida de Annie

By Annie

In case you don't know what it's for?

I should have learnt my lesson by now, but no, I keep on returning to that DIY store with the two consonants linked by a &. I have only managed to actually buy anything from there on a small percentage of attempts, and then it was wrong/damaged or needed several abortive visits to try to collect it.

After the previous trip when I went to collect a lawnmower I had reserved online for collection that day, and found it was not there, had not been there and would not be there for "maybe a week or so", I wrote them a stroppy email complaining about their appalling service over the years, itemising my many grievances including (for example):

The time I was not allowed to buy a radiator in clear view on a shelf, because it needed a forklift truck to get it and health and safety regulations meant they couldn't do so;

The dozen boxes of laminate flooring I bought and paid for on special offer with the agreement I could collect it later - they sold it to someone else and made me pay the difference when it finally came in stock again at the full price...

I could go on but I'm sure you've all been there with your own tales of incompetence. Reluctantly I went back there for some different flooring which I'd used previously and knew to be good; as I entered the doors my words in the email I sent about never shopping there again except at gunpoint rang in my ears, and Karma of course punished me by ensuring that every box of that flooring had been snapped up over the recent bank holiday. The whole of Liverpool must have been covering their floors with medium rustic oak while I was blissfully mooching around taking pics in the sun.

The flooring guy tried to be helpful, to his credit, demonstrating that he actually knew about the products in the store (never encountered that before - respect!), and rang around the other branches to try to locate some, to no avail of course, the whole time applying dollops of antiseptic cream to a huge red lump on his arm. "Something bit me when I came in here this morning" he said. I hot-footed it out of there.

In case anyone's anxious about my flooring requirements, I did get what I needed in a different store with no trouble at all...... Now wasn't that an exciting day? Bet you're all overwhelmed with ennui.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.