RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Golden Hour Colors

The infamous golden hour comes through again when in need of a daily photo. We spent the day doing stuff around the place, so there were few opportunities to take stellar photos. The sun was going down when i decided I better get motivated despite the triple digit temperatures. I walked down the road from our unit, hoping to find some interesting desert flora that would inspire me.

I settled on this colorful small palm near our complex pool. There was just enough sun left to get a golden exposure, enhanced with a tip I read this afternoon about white balance. The tip was to set a custom white balance to around 5,500K (instead of using average white balance) when taking golden hour photos to ensure the camera does not try to override the very color for which one is striving. Judging by this photo, it seems to work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.