Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Old chair....New start

This old chair marks a new start for me.
It belongs to the people who bought and still live in the house where I was born.
My Dad died in 1967 and Mum decided to sell up and move to Stamford Bridge to provide a new start for us all.
Mum died last year age 84.

In 1987 my life changed dramatically.
I moved with my two small children, from London, to live with Mum and my step-Dad Allan until I got re-housed. It was a long and difficult six months for all of us.
I have always taken the Xmas decorations down before the New Year comes in, Mum always kept hers up until the 12th night. Mum said it was unlucky to take them down before the 12th night.

The 12th night is the 5th of January, which is also Mum's birthday.
I am not religious.
I do believe in significant dates.

On the 5th of January 1988 I received a phone call from the local council offering me a house in the village where I was born.
I didn't drive then, Mum took me to pick up the key and view said house.
Mum suggested that it was the luck of the 12th night.
We moved in, in February.
Since then I have always kept my decorations up until the 5th of January.

I have worked as a cleaner of private houses, offices and Pubs for 18yrs, I decided a couple of years ago that maybe I'd had enough of cleaning other peoples loos.

I took myself off to the Peak District to attend a couple of intensive long weekend courses, I learnt how to make loose covers and also the basics of upholstery.

I returned full of good intentions, I would start my own little business,
I named it WoldsFabCreations -my village is situated at the foot of the East Yorkshire Wolds.

Most people who know me, know that I am possibly the worlds worst -should that be best- time waster and procrastinator, hence my little plan did not quite get going, lack of advertising didn't exactly help either!

In about November last year I placed and advert in our local rag "The Parish Pump" and gave myself until February this year to get my act together, and if nothing happened by then I would just have to go back to cleaning and living my life to other peoples time-tables.

On the 5th of January this year......I received a phone call.

It was to ask me if I would have a look at this chair with a view to re-covering it, I never miss a chance to go to my old home, so I went straight away.

I got the job.

Thanks Mum.......love you xxx

Since then I have had a steady stream of jobs, I'm still procrastinating, in fact that's what I'm doing right now.......I should be in the workshop.

Tomorrow would have been my Dad's 100th birthday....... I wonder what that will bring?

Bye

I shouldn't miss the chance to advertise.

I make loose covers and curtains,
I alter curtains, make new from old if you want.
I can re-cover shabby old chairs and make cushions.
If in doubt...ask me, I won't take on anything that I can't do.
07738 194971
01759 368776
I am in Bishop Wilton, East Yorkshire

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.