horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

For Mel

For the love of my life
For the girl who consented to be my wife
Despite some serious drawbacks to being lumbered with me
Like dishes being left till the next day
Or being crap at spotting dust
Obsessing about bikes
And photography
And wildlife
Forgetting things
And places
And the names of famous people
Letting pans boil dry while I should have been watching
Twice
Being a typical bloke and not going to the doctor
Choosing instead to whinge
Loving football
And insisting I'm English
(A double whammy)
Being too relaxed about some things
Too uptight about others
(But I do like to get places on time, verging on early)
Earning too little
Dreaming of too much
Seven years
Eight next when we marry
An administrative procedure hiding an excuse for a great holiday
Which isn't the only reason we're getting married
But it's a good one
And all worth it if, just every now and then, I can make her smile
Instead of scowling (see reasons above)
For Mel

(I was listening to a radio 4 programme about Edwin Morgan on Sunday while driving back to Edinburgh from Aberdeen - I can't profess to his talent, but can make a stab at sentiment)

Walking past my favourite purveyor of vintage jewellery, Trinket, after a morning meeting I chanced upon this fella in the window, and just had to go back at lunchtime to brighten up Mel's day. Someone suggested holding onto it till Christmas, but that's a day that should contain smiles anyway. Today needs it more.

Somehow I resisted another pair of cufflinks for myself, but I'm cheery enough at the thought of her seeing this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.