secret garden

By freespiral

Another stone

Another stone today but very different from yesterday's massive stonescape. This little stone is to be found in an old graveyard where I went on my way home post infants - a bit of tranquillity was needed! The burial site and little ruined church are built inside a ringfort - the whole area feels very serene and ancient. I have blipped from here before - mystery.
The first time I visited the site I completely missed the little stone and was amazed at my shortsightedness for it is very significant and rare. It is an Ogham stone, dating from somewhere between the 6C and 10C. Ogham is an old Irish alphabet, itself pretty mysterious. Rather perversely I'm afraid, I'm not showing you the side with the Ogham because I like the little cross! Ogham looks a bit like runes and was cut in straight lines usually down the side of something. Stones were usually placed as markers - either for burials or boundarys. I don't think many people know about this one as I haven't been able to find many references to it. I suspect it's the same age as the church.

Enough history lesson! It's now raining a lot, but tomorrow is Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.