Upper Largo and Newburn Cemetery

Buried faither today.
It's a lovely spot as Meles said; in the lee of Largo Law and looking out over the Firth of Forth.
As the minister said, the sea and the hills were both defining parts of Dad's life...
It was a beautiful day, too.

It's been a long day, though. Stressful early on, wondering if M's train would be on time...picking up my wee brother (wondering what state he'd be in). I also discovered that the waistcoat of my suit no longer fits (must be all the muscle I've put on digging, lately ;) but it was fine as a two piece.
A good church-service after the interment (and I speak as an atheist). The hymns were all good sing-along belters (not like the modern ones, which can be terribly lame, with no proper tune that you can get your teeth into) and the minister knew Faither well, and was obviously fond of the old sod. Some unintentional comedy in the eulogy, that only the children could see, having known Dad before his second marriage....

I will miss him very much, flaws and all, and it was a fine send-off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.