Spirited of London

By Spirited

London Life

Thinking back it seems that phone boxes played a pretty significant role in my childhood. Squeezed into the distinctive red phone box with a group of friends making giggly phone calls (....although I can't think for the life of me who we would have been ringing.) Sometimes the pips would go in the middle of the call and you would need to feed another 10p. If you ran out of 10 pences it was OK as you could reverse the charges or just give your mum ' three rings' when you were ready to be picked up.

When I first came to London 11 years ago phone boxes were the domain of the prostitute card. Printed in bright colours and unrealistic nude illustrations every phone call was a carnival experience! Now the ladies of the night have scarpered and left the phone boxes as the domain of the more 'niche' services.

Keeping my fingers crossed that I am not somehow committing an offence with my blip....that would be a real bummer! ( no pun intended!) ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.