floridahaunts

By shutterbugsue

Ocklawaha River

I had several photos to select from today but I thought maybe some of you have never seen Florida. So this is one of our many beautiful rivers that we have. If you were to take a boat ride you would see alligators, snakes, turtles, wild turkey, white tailed deer,
otters, manatee, and many species of birds which GB and I have shared with blip. There are wild monkeys on this river in the near future I will post some of the monkeys also wild bore. I had quite an eventful day I started out and there was nothing to be seen anywhere except for insects and butterflies. Then later on after noon
I saw a small alligator. The most exciting was I was trying to shoot the gator and all of sudden I heard this squealing noise I looked down and there was a water snake with a rather large leopard frog in his mouth racing to the water all the while desperately holding onto the frog. About the time I went to shoot something flew right in front of me and it was a beautiful red shouldered hawk.
Before I could push the shutter down he saw me and immediately flew away.
Mean while the water snake dove in the water with frog still in his mouth. I think the hawk was as shocked as I was. We were not more the two feet apart.
Eyeball to eyeball too funny. I did not have time to be frightened it all happened so fast. I so wanted a shot of the snake with the frog in his mouth
but they all came out blurred not good enough to share. The frogs head was sticking out of the snakes mouth just screaming. That's mother nature but it was a sight to see. All in all I had a great day. I will give some history on this river another day. Hope all has a wonderful weekend. It is really hot here.
Ocklawaha stands for Creek as in Muddy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.