reminisce

By reminisce

A lone cycling trip...

... is what it ended up being as one of the co-cyclists Wing Cmdr Ramany, who organizes the Sunday rides collapsed while riding this morning. Of course I didn't know this until I came back. I was due to meet Krishna and the group at Bison Chowk and I rode alone till there. The wet cantonment area was simply a treat without a glint of sunlight at this time in the morning. I was in touch with Krishna until I reached Bison Chowk where he stopped responding to my message. I was surprised and a bit disappointed. But I had thoroughly enjoyed my leisurely ride till here. The air smelt sweetly with the smell of Gulmohar and the rain. I took some pictures while waiting for the group that never arrived at Bison Chowk.

I then rode back enjoying the ride fully, breathing the fresh air and rejuvenating myself. A small puppy followed me for a bit and then another old man who was walking until he was rudely shooed away. I would keep a dog except for my very long absences from home due to the work schedule. It is important not to be selfish about having a dog for yourself, because dogs miss you a lot when they're alone at home and I have no one to take care of them.

This was the first ride when the air was so clean that I came back without any dust or dirt on my face. Krishna called me responding to my calls and messages and told me about the incident. They had rushed him to the military hospital and he was sent home saying all was fine. It seems cyclists need to eat before the rides and wing cmdr being older in age should not push himself too much even if he is the main organizer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.