Displacement activities

By Detritus

At the weekends we often take to the woods to walk the dog and let our daughter have a run about too. I know little about nature, but it's nice to have a nose about and look for different things each visit. I don't know what these mushrooms are, I'm sure they're not exceptional, but their colour stood out against all the others we saw.

We've been walking around these woods most weeks for the past seven years, we came here when we viewed our home for the first time (also our first trip to the village), and had a walk around whilst we discussed whether we liked the house and wanted to make an offer.

As an aside, these woods were replanted following the original trees being largely destroyed in the storms of October '87. I remember that storm well, we had no power for a day or two. I can't remember any significant power cuts since. In terms of weather, the UK may be generally quite dull, but after seeing recent news reports from other parts of the world I quite like things dull.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.